Spirituality: What Is Reiki?

I read in the book: Reiki For Life, by Penelope Quest that if you extract DNA from someone and take it to a different room, then evoke an emotional reaction from the person it belongs to, the DNA extract still reacts just the same: tightens when negative, expands when positive. Just like how our emotions affect us physiologically e.g, crying when sad, blushing when embarrassed etc; it turns out that even if our DNA is 350 miles away from our body that it will still react directly with our current emotional state. Amazing isn’t it? I also read that ailments always begin on an emotional level- this was in the book: Beyond past lives, by Mira Kelly.

Now we have a an energy system with chakras that are regulating with our emotions:
The crown chakra is just above the head and shines violet- it’s linked to spiritual connection and wisdom.
The third eye is between the brows and shines indigo and is linked to psychic awareness.
The throat chakra shines light blue and links to self expression.
The heart shines green, and is linked to love and relationships.
The solar plexus is underneath the breast near the top of the ribs and shines yellow. It is linked to identity and confidence.
The sacral chakra is below the navel and shines orange and is linked to intimacy, and how we derive pleasure from the world.
The root chakra is near the pelvis and shines red and is linked to security.
There are many micro chakras all around the body and further up and down the auric field but these seven are the main chakras. They run along the back down the kundalini line.

The aura is very tall with several layers and we pick up more information than we are consciously aware of. What Reiki means is being a channel for universal healing energy to flow through the hands towards the person that needs the healing. I cannot say who needs it or offer it out to anyone because it may actually interfere with someone’s personal healing. They have to seek it out themselves.

We all have higher selves- the parts of us that remember our past lives, and remember why we chose to be born to the life we did.

How it works is I place my hands on various places of the body in a dignified manner, however touching doesn’t need to be involved if the client wishes it. I find it helpful as physical touch can be healing in itself. The healing energy makes its way around the body, and removes blockages in the chakras that have built up over daily life.

Sometimes when I’m working on a chakra, my guides will present me with an image in my head to tell me where the problem is so I can help the client further. However Reiki is purely about energy healing and you can never predict what results you’ll get or if I’ll receive any intuitive images at all.

By opening myself up to my guides I can be led around the body to areas that are most in need of healing. Sometimes I can feel the energy flowing very strongly, sometimes it’s pleasant and sometimes it’s painful and I’ll get aches in my body but it will just be an indication of where the client’s pain is. I can switch off to the feeling at any time.

Sometimes the clients may feel things like brief euphoria, heaviness, electricity, and sometimes the energy can stir up old, stored emotions. It’s always good to let these emotions surface as its part of the cleansing process to release them.

After a Reiki session, its important to drink plenty of water; sometimes its common to feel tired, have a headache or be in a bad mood due to the cleansing process and your body releasing toxins, but it never lasts more than 2-3 days. Soon you’ll be able to tell a difference. The first time I had Reiki done I suddenly had a confidence I hadn’t had for a long time and I found myself taking care of myself more; by doing what was best for me I
was much happier.

Reiki cannot take away the cause for our blockages but if it helps we can talk to clients afterwards to help them figure out ways to deal with the causes. It is confidential between client and practitioner and some Reiki practitioners undergo a counselling course for this purpose.

Anyone can have Reiki done, but it’s important to know that it is not an alternative treatment method but a complimentary one. Due to it being a cleansing practice, it is not advised to drink, smoke cigarettes or be under the influence of other drugs at least 24 hours before the session.

The man who rediscovered the symbols for Reiki which are used to produce and enhance the healing energy flow, was called Mikau Usui. He was born a Tendai Buddhist and studied in the Tendai monastery as a child. He dedicated his teachings as an adult towards allowing students to achieve enlightenment and heal themselves without a religious connection or a belief system attached. One day he decided to climb the mountain Kamara Yama and sit to meditate at the top hoping to receive enlightenment. He went 21 days without eating and on the last day he got one great big Reiki over his head and was given the Reiki symbols that are still used in the field today.

Leave a comment