Like One Star

My poem from the Anthology: Halloween Screams


I answer to all
Even royalty
But my praise goes to Rodents
Who assist me adoringly
Red stained fingers abuse me
Life says my vengeance
On killers
Doesn’t help my cause
But our future plans are ruined
I rage
Making silence
She advises I steal teeth and other chores

⁃ I bring out the best, the height of happiness
⁃ But I can highlight the worst
⁃ Everything’s exposed in my light
⁃ I teach them to try
⁃ I’m what makes them survive
⁃ Death and I are a cycle but some
⁃ fall asleep at the wheel
⁃ When they oppress inner children, it’s me that they kill

My worst clients excuse all the work that I do

⁃ some run from my gifts after asking for help

Teenagers need me but that’s not why they seek me

⁃ I give them the tools to create a good home

Some adults can’t sense me on their uninteresting days.

⁃ Invisible people waste what I sow

My lover asks me to change up their ways

⁃ My lover will attest that I’m a tough coach

Maybe I’m too soft

⁃ They should have some more faith

No one is more my favourite
Than the content elderly
Of my long acquaintance

When one such perished
We came to meet
Lots in common
We shared in our grief

We’d been loving and hating
Hoarding each of our powers
Then realised
the world
replicated our model

She dropped her defences

⁃ He swept me up from below

We fell in love
Now we share all our goals

⁃ I’m usually in trance when Death
⁃ comes through the door
⁃ I’m building new skin for critters
⁃ That devour my warmth
⁃ I’m waiting for Death to make what they’ve got fail
⁃ I burst with excitement at the final details

I love watching life
As she constructs from my work
She weaves
Wades and ruptures
My cold, opaque
Murk
I feel I’m my best
When I’m
around her

⁃ Death circles in front
⁃ and sits on the floor
⁃ his hands hold my waist,
⁃ he strokes my long hair
⁃ Dragon scales get shredded, as our lips beg for more
⁃ We make sweet free will as we shine like one star

Let’s put everything on hold
You’re my prisoner
My rebel

⁃ My dear, you must go

Why can’t they thrive
without glass houses and pebbles?
My charm,
my woe?
Let’s make Winter
The new summer
A test
for the damnedest
Of souls

⁃ I’m too hot for big jumpers, so honey, it’s a no
⁃ I know you’re romantic
⁃ And you keep Mother clean
⁃ But darling, I can’t work
⁃ If we stay in the sheets
⁃ Spring needs to come and I need to breathe
⁃ Stop crowding me. But PROMISE you’ll watch all that I achieve

Of course
As long as my name’s
Spoken hoarse
At the height of fame
in your award
winning speech

It’s true, we free each other
From mindless consumption
When we find that we’re trapped
In a recyclable dungeon

One day we’ll be joined
I dream of the date
No pain, no time
Your souls have good fates

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Halloween-Screams-Globe-Writers-ebook/dp/B09JWTBF4Q/ref=sr_1_1?crid=YX9B7S3WYDSU&dchild=1&keywords=halloween+screams&qid=1635632124&s=books&sprefix=halloween+screams%2Cstripbooks%2C154&sr=1-1

Leave a comment